This year, the Senior Closed had 71 players with 14 playing in 2 events across 11 categories.

In the Ladies’ final, Emmeline Gale had an impressive comeback from match ball down against Hayley Openshaw-Blower in the 3rd game to then winning the match 3-2!

Paul Broadberry won the Men’s final 3-1 against Jude Gibbins.

Winners to other events are below and all results and final positions can be found on League Master, here.

Thanks to Purley Sports Club for hosting, Claire Baker for all her hard working organising and running the event and Clare Wright and Ellie Thomas for running the desk over the weekend.


Mens Open Winner – Paul Broadberry – St George Hill & Oxshott
Mens Open Runner Up– Jude Gibbins – Limpsfield

Ladies Open Winner – Emmeline Gale – Surbiton
Ladies Open Runner Up – Hayley Openshaw-Blower – Surbiton

Open B Winner – Anant Gupta – Purley Sports Club
Open B Runner Up -Emilio Schweighart Gate – Purley Sports Club

Open C Winner – Rishi Naik – Purley Sports Club
Open C Runner Up – Nick Dunn – Woking Squash Club

Open D Winner – Duncan Howorth – Oxshott Village Sports Club
Open D Runner Up John Hughes – Woking Squash Club

Ladies Open B – Winner Lara Krnic – Ebbisham Sports Club
Ladies Open B – Runner Up – Colette Webster – DL Purley

Over 35 Winner – Alex Mayle – Wimbledon Racquets
Over 35 Runner Up – John Betts – Purley Sports Club

Over 45 Winner -Wayne Beglan – Reigate Squash Club
Over 45 Runner Up James Greenhead – Wimbledon Racquets

Over 55 Winner – Marc Aldridge – Purley Sports Club
Over 55 Runner Up – Paul Eneas – Purley Sports Club

Over 65 Winner – Paul Ekins – Purley Sports Club
Over 65 Runner Up – Peter Culver – Colets

Over 75 Winner – James Dubois – RAC
Over 75 Runner Up – David Newman – Sheen Squash Club