On Sunday 4th December we held the Surrey Racketball Closed at New Malden Sports Club.  Whilst numbers were down on the previous year we still saw 24 entrants across 6 events compete in some great matches.

All the winners were represented by different Clubs so it is great to see the success spread across all reaches of Surrey.

Congratulations go to David Smith who retained his Mens A title against Alan Tiffinder playing in the event for the first and hopefully not the last time. A close match which went almost down to the wire but which David saw out 2-1.  It was made more tense for David as his wife was expecting their first baby the next day so I am sure he will also pass his thanks to her for holding out!

Also winning titles for the first time were Colin Shermer (Mens B), Colin Waite (Mens C) and Rob Gale (over 40’s) whilst we saw some familiar faces winning in Phil Hall (over 50’s) and Simon Dillon (over 60’s) although the jury is out on Simon as he doesn’t look old enough!

A huge thanks to New Malden for hosting the event for the first time and also a special thanks to Karakal who once again supported the event with the supply of balls plus grips to all entrants and prizes.

Look out for our first Surrey Racketball doubles event coming in the early part of 2023.

Winner Club Runner-up Club
Men’s A David Smith David Lloyd Purley Alan Taffinder Reigate Squash Club
Men’s B Colin Shermer Ebbisham John Hughes Woking
Men’s C Colin Waite Reigate Squash Club Craig Swinerd Woking
Men’s Over 40 Rob Gale Surbiton Peter Cossey Surrey Sports Park
Men’s Over 50 Phil Hall Nuffield West Byfleet Chris Burton Woking
Men’s Over 60 Simon Dillon Bourne Club Gordon Flemming David Lloyd Purley